Archive | January 24, 2012

DARPA’s “narrative networks” initiative

As I mentioned in class today, DARPA is getting into the management and manipulation of “narrative networks.” One can read a summary here and read the actual presolicitation DARPA-BAA-12-03 here. Advertisements

Continue Reading

Bio: Peter Rood

During my junior year of high school, I attended a lecture and reading of the author Michael Ondaatje who is well-known for the book The English Patient. That night, he read from his book Anil’s Ghost which is a fictionalized account of a human rights’ worker in Sri Lanka who is responsible for identifying the […]

Continue Reading

How to Define Civic Media + Tactical Design + Contested Spaces?

Nitin, Alex and I talked about sharing with everyone a few word clouds gathered from our post-it note exercise today.  There were some really awesome, thought-provoking comments and definitions, and I hope the exercise will serve to generate some ideas as we start imagining potential projects. What kind of connective threads do you see running […]

Continue Reading

Bio: Alex Kelly

Hello, my name is Alex.  I’m looking forward to being TA for this course. I’ve had Civic Media in my life ever since I was in high school.  I coordinated weekly talk shows with students in my class and taught elementary school students how to produce stories that mattered to them on WERU, a grassroots […]

Continue Reading

Event: Activist Tech Demo Day

From Arab Spring to Occupy Wall Street, technology has played an important role in shaping contemporary resistance and the representation of these events in the media. What new tools of protest and occupation have emerged over the past year? The Urban Research Group @ Eyebeam and The Public School New York invite activists, technologists, artists, […]

Continue Reading