Archive | January 26, 2012

Bio: Nathanael Bassett

Last year I graduated from Missouri State University with a BA in Mass Media and a minor in Political Science. I had a difficult time choosing between the two, until a friend put it to me in an extremely simple way: “There’s not really that much difference, is there?” In the terms of my interests, […]

Continue Reading

Event: SOPA Teach-In

Thought some of you may be interested in this: SOPA TEACH-IN January 31, 12-1pm Open to the public. The New School, 66 5th Ave 101 with Michelle Bogre, David Carroll, Trebor Scholz, and Wendy S. Walters On January 18th, Google, the English version of Wikipedia, Reddit, the Internet Archive and 7000 smaller websites “went dark” in protest against […]

Continue Reading

Karen’s Story (on OWS)

In early November, days before the police cleared the occupation, I went to the Zuccotti Park with my friends Sara and Sarah looking for a story for a sound piece. We came across Karen. This is the story of how she became an occupier. Produced by Jimena Zuluaga, Sara Loscos, Sarah Cotenoff. NYC, November 2011.

Continue Reading

Bio: Jimena Zuluaga

I’m originally from Bogotá (Colombia), a big, chaotic, and sometimes nice sometimes not-so-nice city. I moved to New York in August to come to the New School. And here I am! I’m interested in technology in general, and in new forms of narrative through new media in particular. I have worked as a copywriter, editor, press […]

Continue Reading

FBI & social media monitoring

Following on from Peter’s interesting post about DARPA funding research & development of tools for ‘narrative control’, I spotted this story that the FBI has recently invited proposals to build new social media monitoring tools. Here is a summary and here’s the RFI doc. Along similar lines to the DARPA research, this appears to go […]

Continue Reading

DIY Days March 3

Just came across this event the New School is sponsoring – DIY Days. Looks to be a great day of workshops and talks for folks who work in creative industries (that’s us). It’s not until March 3, but registration is on Jan. 30. Just wanted to give everyone a heads up. –Aaron

Continue Reading

hello, this is christo

Most recent projects include the mapping of graffiti removal in New York City and a study of the haunted spaces motif in locative media design research. I’m interested in the controversy over the smart city and the networked city, i.e. the centrally monitored and professionally managed city as compared to a distributed and participatory polis. […]

Continue Reading