Archive | January 30, 2012

Biography : LG

Hello, my name is Laila. I was born in Cairo, Egypt to an Egyptian father and Turkish mother. My name means night in Arabic, which I believe is  fitting to my personality. I completed my undergraduate studies in International Relations and Communications two years ago in Miami, and moved to New York a couple months […]

Continue Reading

bio :: hi, i’m noah

Yikes! Hi, I’m Noah, and it’s an honor to be among such actively interesting folk. About myself? Well, I grew up in California with a single, disabled mother and my own retinal tumor claiming vision from my left eye, my best friend was diagnosed with Leukemia when we were 14, and I moved to New York […]

Continue Reading

Project Example: OccupyWithArt.com

When I showed up at Demo Day I ran into a friend from my undergraduate days at UC Berkeley Chris Cobb. We met when he was pursuing his MFA, and I volunteered to help him install this project at a bookstore in San Francisco. Now Chris is one of the five or so people running Occupy […]

Continue Reading

Bio: Steve Brown

I’m from London and my undergraduate degree was in Government & History from the London School of Economics. At that time I first got involved in political activism, particularly around the miner’s strike. There is a piece by an artist called Jeremy Deller called the Battle of Orgreave, which has both a strong personal resonance […]

Continue Reading

Freeing Ourselves Through Network Ownership

This post is cross-posted at MrLiterati Saturday afternoon I attended the Activist Demo Day at Eyebeam, along with other students in my Civic Media and Tactical Design class. A good number of people crammed into half of a gallery to talk about how technology can aid the goals of community organizers and activists in many ways. Some of what […]

Continue Reading

Activist Demo Day Impressions

I felt that attending the Activist Demo Day was a perfect way to gain a more-than-conceptual idea of how technology can serve as an impetus for social change. Additionally, this event fueled my enthusiasm for this course and the opportunity to create my own civic media project. Below you will find a rundown of the […]

Continue Reading

Bio: Kelly Sandoval

Hello all, my name is Kelly. I am originally from Chula Vista, California, a city 10 minutes from Mexico located within San Diego County (also hometown of Mario Lopez, huge brag right I know).  I studied International Relations and Spanish at UC Davis and spent the better part of a year living in Brazil, learning […]

Continue Reading

Bio (kinda)

Hi, this is Jeremiah. This course is my first foray into civic media making and I’m excited to learn from and with what I can already tell is a highly engaged and experienced group. My background is in philosophy and literature and languages. I lived in Hamburg for 5 years as an English teacher and […]

Continue Reading

Bio: Nitin Sawhney

Here is a brief blurb about my background and interests: I am an Assistant Professor of Media Studies at the New School for Public Engagement. I completed my PhD at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where I conducted research in networked collaboration and ubiquitous computing at the MIT Media Lab, and taught at the Program in Art, […]

Continue Reading

Bio: Piril Gunduz

Before coming to the New School, I studied Economics and Film Studies and took classes from Fine Arts and Gender studies at the Bosphorus University in Istanbul. After graduating, I worked for Istanbul Modern Art Museum and also for a Turkish artist, who is an alumnus of TNS Media Studies program.  Last semester, I co-founded […]

Continue Reading